• Down The Inside
  • Posts
  • ‘The Bengaluru Kid’ Who’s Taking the Racing World by Storm: Shreyas Hareesh

‘The Bengaluru Kid’ Who’s Taking the Racing World by Storm: Shreyas Hareesh

We caught up with Shreyas Hareesh, one of India's fastest upcoming talents on two wheels.

For most children in India who aspire to become legends in sports, picking up a bat, racquet, or ball would seem like the norm. However, for Shreyas Hareesh, picking up a bike was the start of a successful journey in motorsports. The twelve-year-old developed a passion for bikes at the tender ages of four and five when he first started to learn how to balance a bike.

He first expressed an interest in racing when he encountered the Yamaha RD350, which he used to ride on frequently with his father. Speaking of his earliest memories associated with this bike, Hareesh said, “I used to sit on the tank, and I used to put my legs on the crash guards. I used to hold the handles sometimes. And from there, the first time I rode a bike, I could get the feel; I could balance the bike on my own. So I learnt a lot when I was riding with my dad too.”

At 11-year-old, he dreams to be the first Indian MotoGP rider; Shreyas Hareesh

However, it wasn’t just the RD350 that Hareesh could ride. When asked about his first bike, he named the Chinese 50cc. “One of my dad’s friends, his son, was training on mini bikes. So, he called us one day to ask because I was talking about bikes all the time. He invited us to the track and he told ‘You can borrow the bike from us to ride’ and that was the first time I rode the 50CC Chinese bike.”

From these early days of Hareesh’s interest in racing to his current levels of participation in championships like the MRF MMSC Indian National Championship 2023 and MMSC Sprint Rally, Hareesh has come a long way.

His debut race is proof of his immense talent. Riding a Kawasaki 110cc minibike, he went on to win his first-ever race. Of this milestone, Hareesh said, “It was my first ever race and I won it. So from there, it all started and I got invited by Suzuki to test their D70 bike and it just started going to the next level from there.”

Sure enough, Hareesh’s journey was only just beginning. He continued winning races and eventually won the opportunity to represent India at the FIM MiniGP World Series finals in Valencia, Spain, in November 2022. 

Talking about his time in Spain, the Bengaluru racer replied, “The experience was great in Spain. I got to learn a lot— my body techniques, it made me unlearn some things, it made me learn some things new. Even the race experience was great. I started last and finished fifth in the first race and I started last again and finished fourth [in the second race].”

Back home in India, the racing never stops for Hareesh. However, despite all the action on track, his pre-race routine remains consistent while off track. 

“Usually I don't directly go to the races, I go three days or four days before the race. I suit up and then I practise till almost four. The same for three days and [then] I have the race weekend. I wake up at four, go to the temple, and pray to God [then I] go to the race track, finish the pooja on my bike, and then I’m ready to race.” 

In addition to the on-track practice, mental strength is also important and Hareesh is well aware of this. He stated that he sets aside time to train his reflexes, to help his mind stay focused and sharp during the race.

At this moment, Hareesh’s focus is on the goals he’s set for himself this year. “My goal this year is to come on the podium in Group C and win all the ten races in rookie [season], and in Chennai, I need to do a two-flat timing.”

“I’m pretty confident but not overconfident,” he added succinctly when asked whether he thinks he could achieve his racing goals.

Being a racer while also having to juggle the average life of a school student would certainly be challenging, but Hareesh expressed his gratitude for his school’s support. “My school, Kensri School and College, is really supportive, they allow me to take some holidays and train harder. I have online classes sometimes. I wrote multiple exams when I had a race weekend too!”

If there’s one person who has supported Hareesh throughout his career, it’s his father, who is also his trainer. While listing out his role models, Hareesh named his father, grandfather, and Spanish MotoGP racer, Marc Márquez. Talking about why he looks up to Márquez, Hareesh stated, “He’s a really aggressive-mindset rider and I like how his physique is, I like his riding techniques, and more.”

MotoGP is the pinnacle of motorcycle racing and it certainly looks to be inevitable that Hareesh becomes a professional MotoGP racer someday. With the series coming to India’s Buddh International Circuit later this year, Hareesh expressed his excitement for the event and shared his experience of watching a MotoGP race for the first time in Malaysia: “When I was seven years old, my dad had taken me to Malaysia to watch the MotoGP in Sepang. The experience was great, and my mom and sister had come but they did not like it a lot because it was too loud. And I got to meet a lot of riders, and I got to see how they actually lean the bike. They lean it almost 60 degrees.”

One notable rider Hareesh has met and exchanged words with is Álex Rins, the MotoGP rider from Spain. “I never expected [Rins] coming to congratulate me and it was a great experience meeting him. He gave me some tips too. He told me I need to be more consistent and I need to flex my body a little more.”

The future looks bright for this young prodigy, who has an exciting series of races ahead of him this year. The Malaysia Superbike Championship 2023 at the famed Sepang Circuit, the MotoGP Bharat, and the Apex Championship are just a few of the events Hareesh will be racing at this year. 

“I’m most excited about the Pro-Stock and the Rookie category. I’m really excited to go to Malaysia [...] where I saw the MotoGP happening, and I never expected to ride there but I’m riding there.”

Every experience teaches us something and for Hareesh, racing has helped him become a confident individual. “Racing has taught me to fight back, and never give up, and stay strong [in] your mind.”

These bold words show that Hareesh has a fighting spirit and a strong will to keep doing his best. Backed with talent, passion, and strong support from his family and friends, he is well on his way to becoming a legendary figure in motorsports across India as well as the rest of the world.